Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Strain Gauge adhesives subsitute?

Status
Not open for further replies.

M.Haroon Azhar

Hi.
I am a student of Mech Engineering
i want information from you about starin guages bonding. we are designing an apparatus for combined loading and we need strain gauges for that purpose we have already purchased the strain gauges and now we are searching for its bonding kit and after a long search we are unable to find something less expensive . I would be very thankful if you help us.Please give us an idea that we can implicate for bonding of strain gauges other than bonding kit , becz it will cost us too much if we ordered it online
also you can tell us if there is a way of buying less expensive kit

Have you consulted guidance such as this? What temperature range? What type of adhesive?

yes temp rane between 10 to 35 and adhesive is z-70 used for experimental purpose but hbm is quite expensive and they dont deliever in pakistan
any alternative?

yes temp rane between 10 to 35 and adhesive is z-70 used for experimental purpose but hbm is quite expensive and they dont deliever in pakistan
any alternative?

Not really. The bond between the Al and the gauge must transmit the strain without deformation. Regular epoxies are "gummy" (compress-able), so they totally screw up the strain readings... The adhesive, when cured, literally must be "as hard as a rock"...