Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Welder High Frequency Box help please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShawnR

I have recently acquired a high frequency stabilizer which allows an AC welder to weld aluminum using TIG equipment. I am new to TIG welding but want to learn more about it and this seemed like a good way of getting into it. I have been having a tough time welding with it though. I have had some input from a welding friend and he bounces ideas off of a good tig welder but together we have had no luck. After troubleshooting all of the typical Tig type problems, I am starting to suspect the HF box, although it does appear to work well. I get a great arc from the tungsten to the material and can melt the base material just fine, and run the arc along the material. But the material does not seem to "mix" ...it seems to blow away like I am using DC but I tried another power source (welder) and it does the same thing. The HF box uses a spark gap to generate the HF. I know very little about this but the manual does suggest a spark gap of 0.007". I set it to this, and a little more and a lot less and none make a diffence. The HF at the tungsten is very strong (ie jumps quarter inch or more ) so it appears to work but the welding part does not.