12V LM317 variable power supply, pot got burned.

afspiom_

Hi, I'm a complete newbie in electronics so please bear with me. I came across this diagram online. I tried to build the circuit and made some slight changes on the values of some of the components. The changes made are the following:

• Transformer || 15V to 12V - 1 Amp
• Diode 1 & 2 || 1N4001 to 1N5004
• C2 || 10uf to 0.1uf
• All capacitors are change into 50V rating
• POT || 5k ohms to 1k ohms

I tried to simulate it on multisim before testing the actual circuit and changed the power rating of the POT into 1/8 and it turned out okay with an output of 1.25V to 11.7V. Although when I tried the circuit on actual, the POT smoked almost immediately when I turned the circuit on.

Please help me on this, I want to learn and determine the problem. I'll try again after I get some suggestions and solutions.

P.S. I checked the connections on my PCB and nothing are connected wrong. I think the problem lies around the regulator or the POT...

Attachments

• Adjustment-power-supply-values-1.25-15V-Max-current-0.5-amps.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 77
Sorry for very poor diagram but I'm currently outside right now and I don't have access on my actual work but this is what it looks like roughly. The curly lines are just wires. Please tell me what's wrong...

Attachments

• Untitled2_20240531010257.png
    178.4 KB · Views: 50
If you meant to say Watt for 1/8 , that was your problem and need 1/4W due to max power at one setting is > 150 mW.

(120ohm/1.25V) ^2 * Radj = Pd

Always derate resistor power 25% or more.

You can also reduce the current by raising the feedback R from 120 to 240 or 330 then 1/8W is OK

Last edited:
Thank you so much. I'll try to rebuild my circuit tomorrow and buy a new R2. I'll try to increase the feedback.

That won't guarantee no-load regulation with the LM317, since its worst-case minimum output current needs to be 10mA.
That's why 120Ω is normally used, which guarantees 10mA minimum.