12vdc to 470vdc converter for photoflashes

Status
Not open for further replies.

CalebG

hello all, I am wanting to build a circuit to power my flashpoint 320m monolights from a 12v battery. these come factory ready for direct dc input. the battery pack transformer is 125$ from the factory. specs are as follows, each flash has a maximum output of 150ws, the factory version can run 2 flashes from 1 pack. The magic box outputs 470vdc at full charge. I am still learning but can build from a schematic even if I dont completely understand the magic inside. what is the best way to go about converting 12vdc up to 470vdc?

I was thinking a simple oscillator coupled to an appropriate transformer and a large cap to buffer the charging cycle of the internal caps with a hefty diode bridge to output the dc to the flash units.

Am I on the right track here?

Last edited:
You are on the right track. An circuit that uses the inductance of the transformer will be easier to make and will work better.

**broken link removed**

Where did you come up with the 470 VDC number. I looked at the FP2PP unit they get about $124 for but I can't find what the thing actually outputs? I know it works around a NiMH battery but that was as good as it got.

They claim 400 flashes of 150 WS so with two heads (full power) that would be about 200 flashes and most reviews claim it won't meet the 400 flashes. So who knows on that note.

I did find a few references to using 12 volt to 120 VAC 60Hz inverters but this requires a pure sine inverter and not the typical modified square wave flavors. This 300 watt inverter seemed to be popular and showed up in this video. Then too, the inverter with battery would be large to lug around. I didn't price shop for the inverter. The Samlex 300 Watt Pure Sine Wave Inverter in the link was $159. More than the FP2PP battery pack sans battery and charger.

Then as Colin mentions:
What recovery rate do you want?