Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

16F88 ADC, Simulation w/ SourceBoost IDE

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamthole

Hello,

I was just curious if I am doing something wrong with the code or simulator, or if the simulator just cannot simulate what I am trying to do? I am using SourceBoost IDE to program and simulate.

I am new to PIC and have been trying things out on the simulator to get better at it. One thing I am trying to learn right now is how to read ADC values. I downloaded evandude's adc code for the pic 16f88 and modified it slightly:

//////Begin Code///////
#include <system.h>
#pragma DATA 0x2007, 0x3F50//_INTRC_IO & _WDT_OFF & _LVP_OFF

//important bits in SFR's for ADC, UART, and interrupt.
volatile bit go @ ADCON0.GO;
volatile bit gie @ INTCON.GIE;
volatile bit rcie @ PIE1.RCIE;
volatile bit peie @ INTCON.PEIE;
volatile bit rcif @ PIR1.RCIF;
volatile bit trmt @ TXSTA.TRMT;

char data_in;
bit newdata;

//Function: Reads one value from the ADC
//Returns: most significant byte of result
inline char adc_read()
{
go = 1;
while (go);
return adresh;
}

void main()
{
//*********************//
// configure I/O ports //
//*********************//
portb = 00000000b;
trisb = 11111111b; //0 = Output, 1 = Input
porta = 00000000b;
trisa = 11111111b; //0 = Output, 1 = Input

//***************//
// configure ADC //
//***************//

osccon = 01110000b; //internal oscillator @ 8MHz
cmcon = 00000111b; //comparators off
ansel = 00000001b; //AN0 on (RA0)