Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

18 to 12vdc reducer

Status
Not open for further replies.

AusGuy

Hi guys new to the forum and in need of some help

I need to reduce n 18vdc battery to 12vdc to run a 12v spotlight. Have called my local electronics shop and they were not much help and have done a forum search with out much luck.

It looks like I need to build this device so need help with this as im not to savy with electronics but I am an electrician so have basic understanding and have done a fair bit of electronics as a kid but that was 25 years ago:confused:

Any help on this would be much appreciated

Cheers

If your not worried about efficiency then you just need a resistor. The resistor will need a wattage rating of half the bulb and will get hot. The value of the resistor will be R=72/W.

Mike.

Pommie said:
If your not worried about efficiency then you just need a resistor. The resistor will need a wattage rating of half the bulb and will get hot. The value of the resistor will be R=72/W.

Mike.

OK

Sorry to be a pain but the lamp will be a 75w so what do I ask for at the shop and is that just in line with the +

Thanks

That's a big lamp. You would need a 36W 1Ω (ohm) resistor. This is a rather large resistor and I don't think you will find one at a local shop. You could buy 4 off 3.9Ω 10W resistors from Jaycar and wire them in parallel and place it in the + supply line. They will need to be well ventilated.

Mike.