Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

40Volts. Safe to touch?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Screech

My old printer power pack is a 30volt, 400 Milliamp power supply.
My multimeter shows 40volts when the power pack is unloaded.

Will I get zapped if I touch the 40 volts DC?
At what voltage would I start to feel a tingle?

Thanks.

Screech said:

Varies from person to person, try it and see! :p

hi screech,

When I worked in the steel industry, all our test gear/etc was rated at 50Vrms
It had been decided any voltage greater than 50Vac was a hazard.

You can imagine the size of the 240/50v step down isolating transformers we had to haul around. Would you believe even the damn'd electric kettle was 50Vac. All the cable were as thick as your thumb, the 50V connectors, well!.

So I've always considered over 50Vac as a potential hazard.

I have a greater respect for Vdc supplies, I still have got the scars on my fingers from a 1000Vdc psu.

Its not always the 'shock' that kills you.
In you are working a confined space, just jumping back can bring you contact with lethal objects or make you fall from a height.

If you must touch a 40v psu, use the back of your fingers, any muscular contraction will pull hand away, not onto the supply.

EricG

Hi,

Just my two cents... here in France, everything over 30 V is rated as unsafe... As Nigel Goodwin said, it varies from person to person (and from day to day also, your resistance varies with a lot of factors!)