Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

5 VDC voltage Ragulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxchirag

Hello,

I am very new to this stuff, so please bare with me.

I am trying to make my first micro controller based circuit (basically trying to power my microcontroller for first time).

What i have now is,
1. 230 V AC (mains) to 24v DC/1.5A Converter.
2. 7805 - 5v DC ragulator.

Is that possible to give direct input 24v DC/1.5A to 7805 and the output will be 5v Ragulated DC that i can give in my microcontroller Vcc?

I tried to check in the the datasheet of 7805 but the table looks very confusing. their test condition says their input is 8 to 20v and nothing specified for current (atleast what i understand).

Thanks in Advance!

Hi,

The Fairchild version will take up to 35v on the input. You just have to watch power dissipation, which shouldnt be too much of a problem with the small current a uC chip draws.

Thanks for a quick reply!,

What you said is correct, i will check with power dissipation.

but another question, i m going to use this for long time (for other micro controller based projects).

in that case, what is the most efficient, Reliable and cost effective way to convert 24vDC to 5vDC. i mean with minimum power dissipation and all

Hi again,