8 Led sequence, forth and back.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dagon

Hello guys, well I have a problem, this circuit:

There are 8 leds, when led 1 is on all others are off, when 2 is on all others are off, etc. It must start in led 1 and end in led 8 and then go back to led 7, 6, 5 etc to led 1 and so on.

(If you have Circuit Maker is the Led.ckt file just bigger -8 Leds-).

I have to do this without the Data Sequencer, just using flip flops, gates, etc.

Thanks in advance for your help. :wink:

You can do this with a simple shift register. Each clock you shift in another '1'. When all the LED's are lit toggle a direction bit in a flipflop that causes '0's to be shifted in from the other side.

Thanks for your fast reply, but sorry I can't follow you.
I'm a newb at this.

Could someone make an schematic if possiple, thanks.

Anyone? I have tried with flip flops and a pulser, but only 2 leds work, the others take too long and don't go off. :cry:

Hi

It will be super easy to make it in a MCU.
Anyway, here is what I come up. :arrow:

Good Luck

STEVE

Attachments

• up_down.gif
    17.9 KB · Views: 1,535
Here's my attempt. The resistor/capacitor will set how fast it will go. The 8 wires on the right go to the 8 LEDs. The 2 gates at the top are NOR gates even though they look like NANDs.

Mike.
Edit made image bigger so numbers can be read.

Last edited:
Hi Pmmie,
Don't use both inputs on the 4093 Schmitt oscillator. Connect one input to its positive supply. You can use the 4093 for the flip-flop too.

If you don't use current-limiting resistors for the LEDs, the LEDs will load-down the output and the flip-flop won't work. Current-limiting resistors woill reduce the brightnes way down, so buffer each output that feeds the flip-flop with a couple of inverters or emitter-follower with current-limiting resistor to drive its LED.

audioguru said:
Hi Pmmie,
You can use the 4093 for the flip-flop too.