A mini-wind generator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sstambach

I'm a high school physics teacher and I would like to design a project where students make a mini-windmill generator from a small hobby motor. I would like this mini generator to be able to charge a AA battery that could then be used to light a single light bulb. Is this possible? Would I be able to create a large enough voltage from a small hobby motor to charge a AA battery over time?

A little DC electric motor can charge a rechargeable AA battery cell if the propeller is big enough and if there is enough wind for long enough.
But a light bulb makes mostly a lot of heat and only a little light. Use an LED instead.
A rechargeable battery cell produces only 1.2V. Have you ever seen a 1.2V lightbulb?

You are a teacher who knows nothing about electricity.

I think you're being a little harsh on the OP.

Besides which, I've seen light bulbs down around that size; I used to have (as a kid) old Stomper cars that ran off a 1.5 VDC AA cell; in addition to powering the small motor, the cell also powered a small light bulb for the "headlights"...

Grain-of-wheat bulbs is what they were called (and they were available for a variety of voltages).

You might be able to buy 12V "grain-of-wheat" lightbulbs today. But nothing will be only 1.2V. Old Christmas tree lights and penlights were 2.5V.
How about using a voltage stepup circuit like a Joule Thief or the circuit in solar garden lights?
Then the teacher can learn about then teach about those circuits.

Yep. Small 1.5v bulbs are extremely common and used in little flashlights and are very common in cheap educational "learn electronics" kits that teachers often buy from the electronics and toy shops. I'm guessing you don't buy "learn electronics" kits much these days Audioguru?