Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

adding bytes with 4-bit full adders and getting the o/p on 7 segment(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duellist

hi guys..........
i am still a student and dats the first time to take digital..thought to introduce my self first...
anyway i was asked to use 4-bit full adder(74283 IC) to add 1byte +1byte and have the output on Seven segment(s)...
anyway i passed the stage of connecting the 4-bit full adder on paralel but i faced another problem which is i would have 8 output and i didnt know wat kind of decoders to use or how to connect my seven segment :confused:...

i was wondering if u guys would help...
thx alot

-hussein

hi ,

If you are adding a 4 bit byte to a 4 bit byte, how can you have 8 outputs?

Consider:
byte #1 say its 1111
byte #2 1111
Sum is: carry=1 0000

If you have bytes which give a Sum without the Carry bit being set, then there are only 4 bits on the 'Sum' outputs of the adder.

You would connect the 'S' outputs to a 4bit to 7 segment decoder driver ic.

As a student you should be able to work the solution yourself.

i think i didnt explain my self well.....
check this diagram
**broken link removed**
thats adding 4-bit full adder to be acting as 8-bit full adder

consider
byte#1: 11111111
byte#2: 11111111

i would have 0s on all 8 output and carry is one...

i think that counts as 9 different bits or 1 byte and addition bit i dont know how to deal with it :confused:

i hope i made my self clear this time

-hussein