Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Adjustable LED Strobe Array--Please Review

Status
Not open for further replies.

SolderPoint

Hello,

I'm not an engineer by any means, but I would appreciate it if I could get some feedback on this circuit and any advice. I've been reading here and there when I can get time, and this was the best I could come up with. Apologies for the crudity of the diagram--a quick GIMP image.

555-MOSFET4.1.13.jpg

This is for a 96-LED array in a series of 16 strings.

Forward voltage on the LEDs is 2.3 volts, with each pulling 350mA.

Adjustable voltage 12-15V Pyramid 60 52 Amp power supply that will be set at 13.8 V.

I have two potentiometers put in so I can adjust the duty cycle of the strobe. I've already been playing with a 555 timer calculator, but this is my first 555 circuit and I didn't know what a MOSFET was until a couple of days ago, so that about sums up my level of knowledge.

Should I use this one?
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/IRFZ44PBF/IRFZ44PBF-ND/812810
Or one of these?
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/IRFZ48PBF/IRFZ48PBF-ND/812825
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/IRFP048PBF/IRFP048PBF-ND/812764
https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/AOT462/785-1147-5-ND/1855919

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

SolderPoint

Attachments

• 555-MOSFET4.1.13.jpg
    555-MOSFET4.1.13.jpg
    134.5 KB · Views: 159