advice on learning electronics quickly?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark S.

Hi everyone,

What advice do you good people have on learning electronics quickly. I have been actively interested in the subject a few months now on and off and feel as if i am not progressing as quickly as i should be.

A short background of what i have been upto.

I bought some basic stuff from maplin. A breadboard , multimeter, resistors, capacitors, diode and transistor packs.

I am completely self taught and working through a couple of ebooks i downloaded. Lessons in circuits by Tony R. Kuphaldt and Mcgraw and Hill Teach yourself electricity and electronics.

I have no strong maths background but have been quite happy with the basic theories . i understand ohms law , how static electricity occurs, the ideas behind semiconductors , how to calculate resistances in parallel.

I have found the books pretty heavy going and have difficulty in judging if i would be better off just experimenting with my components more than reading .

Any advice on how you guys progressed more quickly.
What worked for you?

Thanks Mark S.

You can learn a lot by reading but experimenting is like re-inventing the wheel. You will do a lot of expirements that don't work and you might learn something if you figure out why it didn't work, but if you knew what you were doing, it would have worked.

What advice do you good people have on learning electronics quickly.

Trial and Error. That is the best way to learn. (unless you fry something... then it isn't fun...)

You might search out E-bay for used military electronics training manuals. Most covered fundamentals in around 12-13 weeks and while you wouldn't get the hands on lab portion you would get to see the progression of topics needed to prepare for further learning.

Lefty