Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Advice on MC for project

Status
Not open for further replies.

werkkrew

I am looking for help choosing the appropriate mc to use for a project I am involved in at Drexel University.

I have a lot of experience using Motorola 68HC11/12 based boards so ideally id like to use something based on that.

Requirements:

Small
Ability to support two serial ports, one for input, one for output
Non-voilitle memory

Basically, the project is a unit to interface with a programmable engine control unit, whereby it will accept fuel maps through the input com port and store them in memory.

There will be a switch which the user can use to choose one of 4 pre-loaded fuel maps and when chosen, the unit will send that map to the ecu via the output com port.

Basically, at the time of turning the unit on, the user selects a memory bank, presses a button and it sends the data to the ecu.

It sounds simple enough, but I am having trouble selecting right mc with the right feature set.

Any help is appreciated.

Go to www.freescale.com and find the part selector for the 68HC11s. Motorola changed its microcontroller division to Freescale Semiconductor to confuse people - I guess having one of the best known names in embedded systems made buisness a bit too easy and they wanted to go for something a bit more obscure. :wink: