Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Alternative to fuse to protect power supply

Status
Not open for further replies.

kal.a

Hello Ladies and Gents,

As I'm an electronics newbie I am protecting my power supply, which is a plug in adapter, with a a fuse and I go through a lo of them as try differ circuitry so I was lookin for an alternative and read about poly switches/thermistors, are they an alternative? Are they rated the same as fuses?

Thanks
Kal

Polyswitches and thermistors can indeed provide protection for some applications. Horses for courses. They are not rated the same as fuses, since they behave differently. Check the datasheets and application notes for typical parameters and ways of using those devices.

You'll always have current limiter circuits. It'll do excactly that, wouldn't they?

Hy Kal- how goes? :)

You can make a nice protection circuit with a PMOSFET, an opamp, and a few components. You can have the circuit turn the power line off on an overcurrent or, better still, go in to a constant current mode. You could even make the current adjustable.

If you would like that approach I will knock out a schematic, but first I would need to know the details of your power supply: voltage and current.

spec

Last edited:
Hi Spec,

Thanks a lot. At that time I was experimenting with H-Bridge circuits and was blowing a lot of fuses. I think I was using a wall adapter.
I will take you up on your offer though in a week or so as I am working on another little project.

Cheers