Any Idea for a DIY Sensor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Magnetic

Hello guys,
I am a newbie here,

I just want to design an ultrasonic sensor/transducer for a burglar system project.
I just like to design and build the sensor by myself so please do not tell me go and buy a piezo ultrasonic sensor. the center resonance freq would be about 40kHz.

I am thinking on a magnetic transducer. anybody have done a similar task .Any idea for doing so?
the problems of using a tweeter:
1: they are not too directional, And let the waves to propagate from their sides I think .
2: they are not centered at 40kHz.

P.s1. I saw a peizo inside an tweeter too, while it had within a big wounding, So what was the reason of using the piezo insided?

Thanks for any help.

Last edited:
Ok, So no idea!

The second question which comes up:
Which software is used to simulate the behaviors of ultrasonic transducers (like directivity) in air please???

rule no. 1: Don't tell people what they need to do when you're asking questions or for help.
The rest you'll figure it out yourself.

Burglars are human. there are some sensors which respond to humans presence. Elaborate on your setup plan, then you'll get help. And please don't be arrogant, even if you don't intend so. Type your questions with tactfulness.

You can make an electromagnetic ultrasound transducer by making a dynamic speaker with a very low mass and very stiff cone. It will probably take a lot of experimentation before you can even tell if its working, and then a lot more to obtain efficiency suitable for an intrusion detector.

The testing period could take a long time. Every time you are robbed, you will know it did not work...

Magnetic, there is no such software that I'm aware of, software like that is special purpose, basically you'd have to write it yourself. For an extremely high degree of directionality you'd need to make a parametric array, it can't be done with a single element.

Last edited: