Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Assistance please with rs-232 controlled power amp

Status
Not open for further replies.

froop

Hi All,

It's been many moons since I studied electronics, and I was always better with digital than analog, so I'm hoping for some help with this project of mine. I don't really want to design and build from the ground up, but preferably find suitable kits that I can plug together to see my idea come into fruition.

So to that end, here's my idea along with some kits and components which I believe should work, but I'm pretty sure there are better choices out there. Hopefully someone can help me identify those!

What I want to do is build a power amp suitable for home audio, to drive ceiling speakers for ambient music. I'm looking at 30-50W per channel, 6 channels. And I need to control it via a PC, most likely RS-232 (or USB via a USB-RS232 convertor)

Here are some of the components I've identified. Forgive the invalid URLs, I'm not allowed to post links until I've made 3 posts on this forum;

Power amp (www_kitsrus_com/pdf/k106.pdf). Not the cheapest, and that's a pretty big heatsink, especially if I'm going to have 6 of them!

Volume control (para_maxim-ic_com/results.mvp?fam=dig_pot). Seems pretty straight forward to use something off that list or similar, either using a pushbutton or SPI control