Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio playback controlled by PWM signal from RC receiver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karloff

A word of warning to begin with that I am a complete newbie to electronics and while I am trying hard to grok this vast universe of information. However, I am simply stumped and left without a clue. Thus my cry for help and some advice.

I am looking at mocking up a simple sound module governed by a PWM signal coming from the throttle pins of a common RC model receiver. I am aware of at least 2 commercially available solutions, the better being from Benedini. His **broken link removed** fits the bill perfectly, but it is too heavy for my application. Similar modules exist in the model rail road community such as by Phoenix Sound or **broken link removed** or **broken link removed**. Those are nifty little gems, but chock full of features I do not require and far too heavy.

Heavy, you say? Well that's the whole reason for going out on this venture. I fly micro RC and free flight electric airplanes that weigh anything from 8g AUW to 50g (that's about 1/4 - 1 3/4 ounces).

I've googled around and as far as I can tell I have these options at my hands:
  1. Use **broken link removed**
  2. Use a PIC with some MPF to store sound samples
  3. Use one of Atmel's AVRs
  4. Use something I don't know of yet :)
For now my requirements are as follows:
  1. Connects between motor and throttle on common RC receiver