Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bad 4017 or Bad circuit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zebo

I am new to the 4017 so I tried the most basic circuit I could find. See photo attached.
I use 4.5V with a resistor to protect the LED.
Pin connections:
4 (output 3) to the LED via a resistor
8 = 0V
13 (Latch enable) to 0V
14 (Clock) to button to pulse 4.5V from the + rail
16 to +4.5V
Pulsing the switch never turns on the LED.
I also tried a Re-set from pin 4 (output 3) and the LED to pin 2 (output 2), no improvement.
If I move the LED from 4 (output 3) to 3 (output 1) then I get a continuous LED on. It stays on even if I pulse 4.5V to pin 13 (clock).
I have tried 3 different chips.
Can anyone give me some clues?
B.T.W. there seems to be a lot of stray energy around as moving my hand over the board produces flickering which makes me believe the chip does work. I turned off all the 50Hz power in the vicinity and the flickering stopped.

I sure hope someone can help me with this.

Attachments

• 4017 + LED.gif
    4017 + LED.gif
    163.2 KB · Views: 352
Do you have all the unused pins tied to ground or the plus rail, which is rule number one when using CMOS? Any floating nodes in CMOS will cause erratic behavior. That's likely what cause the flickering when you waved your hand.

Try adding a resistor (maybe 10k or so) from pin 14 to ground. The clock is "floating" when the switch is open.