Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

BASIC relay programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheFamousCash

I have no knowledge about "real" programming but have written a program in BBC BASIC which works well but I need to operate a UDIN 8-R relay unit (bought from Audon) from my program.
The unit works with the supplied software but I cannot translate the VB code to BBC BASIC.
Any advice please?

The Cash.

I don't anything about BBC basic, but the hardware doesn't look like anything too special; it basically hangs off a USB port, and presents itself to the OS as a virtual COM or serial port. So, provided you know how to access the serial port on the PC hardware and OS platform you are using BBC BASIC on, it should be somewhat straightforward. You should at least tell us what OS you are using BBC BASIC on, what version of BBC BASIC you are using, and what COM or virtual serial port the UDIN device shows up as. With that information, I might be able to code up something that may work (I don't have BBC BASIC, or even knowledge of it, beyond my general BASIC knowledge, but I do know VB, and no language is totally beyond me - but without it or the hardware, I would be coding "blind" so to speak)...

BBC BASIC was used on the BBC Computer, an ancient 6502 based machine intended for use in schools, manufactured by Acorn, who later invented ARM.

It certainly never had USB ports, and no capability for any.