Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic Watt Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chapstone

Im new to electronics but have been enjoying my introduction to it via Arduino. Electricity may be the most confusing thing in the world... I have a simple question that i can seem to find a simple answer to:

If a watt is per second and a fridge uses about 600 watts how come my electric bill isn't off the charts?
600*60seconds*60minutes*24hours*30days = 1.5million kWh
Clearly I'm missing something...

Secondly if both amps and watts are units of how much power something is using why isn't my electric bill in kilo amp hours?

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

You pay for kWh, not watts.

If a 100W light bulb burns for 8 hours, the amount of energy used is 800Wh or 0.8kWh. In my area, where the rate is $0.12/kWh, that would cost about $0.096 or 10cents.

If a 600W fridge ran continuously for 30days, that would be 600W*30days * 24h/day =432000Wh = 432kWh

432kW*$0.12/kWh = $51.84 for 30 days of continuous operation. Fortunately, the duty cycle of a fridge is less than 25%, so about $13 per month.

Last edited:
Watts are a measure of power and are not per second. A Watt is one Joule per second with a Joule being a measure of energy. You pay for the energy you use. This could be given as the number of Joules you use but it is commonly given as the number of kWh (kilowatt-hours) you use (equal to 1000W * 3600s = 3.6M Joules).