BC558b or c??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grist_E

Hi this is my first post and i was after some advise i am quite new to electronics and am really just teaching myself however i have a circuit i am building from a schematic i found on the internet

**broken link removed**

its an eprom programmer and i have all the components but i dont have T1 (bc558c) i only have a B version

looking up on the datasheet it is only the Hfe is different between the B and C

b = 200 - 450
c = 420 - 800

now this dosent mean much to me but as far as i can ascertain it is the amount of current needed to activate the transistor.

so by my reckoning its going to need a lot of current to switch on T1

now as i say i am very new to this and my next bit may be way of target but i cant understand why there is a 6.8k resistor from the paralell port then a 2.2k pullup resistor after it?

can i alter the resistance on either of these to give me the right current to activate a BC558B insead of a C?

any help appreciated

Craig

It will make no difference for your application, don't worry about it!.

The currents used are all only small, no worries at all.

So I dont need to change anything? just substitute the C for a B

sorry to be a pain but could you/anyone explain the calculations? (just so i dont have to ask the question again about a different circuit i will just be able calclate)

Much appreciated

Craig

Grist_E said:
So I dont need to change anything? just substitute the C for a B

sorry to be a pain but could you/anyone explain the calculations? (just so i dont have to ask the question again about a different circuit i will just be able calclate)