Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building First Pic Programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bryan76

First off let me say that this is my first time using the pic. I have 2 pic16f84a and would like to build a programmer for them. I went through the Newcomers, please read! (PIC regarded) post and am getting confused. Seems to be alot of options and Im wondering which way to go. What in your opion is the best route to take. I downloaded the mplab and installed it. This seems to be a pretty good looking piece of software, I would like to use it if possible (can it be used with any pic programmer?) but am open to suggestions.

If someone has built more then one of the pics listed in the help post then please let me know which of them you would recomend. Or if you know of a better one no listed then send me a link. Thanks again.... :)

First see the sticky posts for this forum for a lot of how to get started info.

For a first time PICer I suggest you buy your first programmer. It will save you a lot of time and headache. Maybe the PIC-PG2. With shipping about $15. You will not be able to use MPLAB with it, but since the 16F84A does not have any breakpoints there is no real downside. SparkFun provides the schematics for the PIC-PG2 and other programmers so you could build one from scratch if you like.

In time you will want to move up to an In Circuit Debugger like the Inchworm ICD2 clone kit that was designed by one of the regulars on this forum.

3v0

3v0 said: