Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

cabinet program and circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi guys! i am new in electronics and computer programming.i work in an office where there are so many files in hard copy. i would like to develop a c++ program(or any other good language) that would be used in the locked cabinet to:

1.ask one to enter his id number before he opens the cabinet
2.allow him open the cabinet if he has a valid company id
(the ids are strored in the program and each worker has his/hers in the program corresponding to his name)
3.indicates time when the file is taken and name(not id) of the person who has it on an indicator for any other person who wants the file to see
4.indicates time when the file is returned.

i do not know which appropriate electronic gadget will store all this information in the cabinet and how i will fix it to the manual cabinet, just locked with a padlock.i want to avoid unauthorised people in the company from taking files at specific cabinets and to know who has a file at a specific time.

kindly help me please, thank you.
walton

You should learn about microcontrollers. This system should be fairly simple to build around one. Also check out atmel 89c5121 - its a microcontroller with a smart card interface. People could use their smart card as a key to the cabinet.

Brent