Can a PIC edit it's own code?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peepsalot

First off let me say I'm new to Microchip PIC programming, still reading up on them and trying to decide which model is appropriate for my first project. I think it will be a lot of fun once I get started.

I noticed the flash memory for storing instructions is generally much larger than the EEPROM built into these chips. So I was wondering if there is any posisible way that the PIC could write into unused spaces of program memory while it is running, and retrieve this data later? Maybe with a chip that allows in circuit debugging or something. Again, I'm still reading these things, so I'm not sure what the limitations at all.

Thanks for any input.

it depends on the pic. some can - 18F series, 16F87x, 16F88 and others can. I wouldn't use it for general storage as the writing time is pretty slow. this is how boot loaders can work.

How about a 16F628A? I think I am going to use this chip.

Could you describe basically what is involved? Do some of the pins need to be wired in a certain way? What sort of instructions are necessary to do it?

The speed of writing and reading doesn't matter a whole lot for the application I have in mind. I would imagine it's faster than 32bytes/sec, and that would be enough for me. It would just be nice to effectively double the nonvolatile memory available. I don't think the program itself will take up too much space, and I'd hate to see all that flash memory go to waste. :twisted:

no the 628A doesn't support it. I think the only 18 pin PIC that supports it is the 16F88 which is a better chip than the 628, anyway. It's all in software.

go find the source code for a bootloader. microchip has one for the 877A, I believe. Also, sparkfun has one for a number of chips (bloader) its site and it's in C so its a little easier to read than other asm bootloaders. That and the datasheets will tell you all you need to know.