Can run alarm on batterycharger?

Status
Not open for further replies.

morten

For a simple burglar alarm I need 12 V and 500 mA max. and a batterybackup. I have found a 12 V lead flees battery 2,3 Ah and a battery charger (600 mA at 13,8 V). Now I would like to ask if some one knows if it is possible to run the alarm direct over the charger and battery, and then save a 12 V power supply?

I am new to this

Morten

Depends on the charger. Two potential problems:

The charger is not well filtered, and has a lot of ripple. The battery might be able to smooth it out to the point where the ripple won't effect the alarm.

The charger is not properly voltage-limited, and will cook the battery if left on 24/7.

If you connect a smoothing capacitor accross the o/p of the charger it'll give you a good supply, but wil increase the volatge, which on a charger with no load will be higher than 12v anyway, whats the max voltage your system will run at?

Hi Mike

Thanks for your answer. The charger should be designed for this lead flees battery and have protection against overcharging. The voltage are decreased when the battery are fully charged.
Do you think it was reasonable to put in a timer so that the charger only runs eg. an hour a day?

Morten

Hi dr pepper

Thanks for your answer. The alarm runs at 10 - 15 V/DC or 9- 12 V/AC I have learned today that a series diode should keep neg. spike away. Now I think a zener diode to ground (15 V) should keep overvoltage away?

Morten

Here is how I would find out: