capacitor choice for mic power

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheGuy

I'm just making a quick mic power circuit, following the design that's attached. However, I don't have a 1uF capacitor at hand, and I need to get this thing done quickly. Will using a 2.2uF, or 0.47uF, capacitor make much difference, and what will the effects be? I'm a total electronics newbie, so I have no idea.

Thanks in advance for any input.

Attachments

• mic power.gif
    12.5 KB · Views: 245
The value of the capacitors affects the low frequency response. But you must use the load resistance in the calculation.
Maybe use a 50Hz cutoff frequency (where the output level is reduced to 0.707 times or -3dB) so that male voices sound realistic.

You don't know the DC voltages so non-polar capacitors (film type) should be used.

Ohh, right, I get it now (I think).

So technically, I don't need a capacitor at all? I'll just have the full frequency response then.

So technically, I don't need a capacitor at all? I'll just have the full frequency response then.
The capacitor is needed to isolate the different DC voltage on the mic from the DC voltage on whatever it feeds.

You need to pass the AC signal and block the DC. A diode would rectify the audio which produces severe distortion.

Last edited:
I don't understand I'm afraid.

I didn't think this circuit would have any AC current in it, as the power is coming from a 9v battery, and the output of the mic is going to go into a camcorder.

Audio is an AC signal. The DC voltage at the output of the electret mic is anywhere from +1V to +8V. The audio causes it to increase and decrease 0.01V so the AC signal is 0.02V peak to peak. This level is very low so the camcorder must have a preamp to amplify it to a useable level. Then why doesn't it already have a jack for an electret mic and a resistor to power the mic and a coupling capacitor??