Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Car Monitoring project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haidy

Hello all

im an Egyptian engineering student
my project is monitoring every thing in car:
speed,distance to surrounding obstacles,temperature,oil leve& pressure,battery stautus, door & light status,......

well, i searched alot for sensors ,measuring speed&distance to surrounding obstacles specialy ,but i found nothing except ultrasonic sensors

now, i mentioned that im Egyptian coz these kinds of sensors are expensive here
too expensive for a student to buy

i dont know what to do
can any one tell me what sensors to use or what way to measure speed and distance to surroundings but without paying much money?????
even i the accuracy is not too good

by the way, i found sth called "purpose built potentiometer" for measuring large scale distance
but this is the only piece of information i found about it, nothing more!!!!

i wish u help me plz, or i'll have to change the whole project, and im running out of time!!!!!!!!

thanx alot

waiting ur replies
byeeee

You can retrieve a huge amount of information interfacing to the cars on board diagnostics. Ultrasonics are going to be the only practical method that I can think of to detect nearby objects but an array to do that in 360 degrees is going to be a real challenge to design.

Re:

Thanx alot sir

well,
ithought of something else
to directly measure the speed of the car
infact it's the speed that's required