Chicken & Egg?

Status
Not open for further replies.

smurff

Hi All,

First post here so Hi Im new to pics and quite excited. (Nerdy I know but hey) and I have read the sticky here about newbies like me. There are a few sites I have read and as some are old and some are new I thought I would ask a few questions please. If they are stupid or exist somewhere else then I do appolagise.

I have decided to go with 18Fs. I see from the sticky that I can program them via USB without a hardware programmer but I would need a hardware programmer to put a bootloader on first. Is this really correct? I was hoping not to buy a hardware programmer. Can you buy PICs with the bootloader already on?

I would like to program in C and I am downloading boostC. Are there any good examples out there other than ones on the vendor site?

Thanks for your time guys
Merry xmas and take care
Danny

Buy a Junebug or PICKit2, programmer and debugger - then you can load your own bootloaders if you really want to.

A bootloader does not allow for ICD akd In Circuit Debugging. The $50 or so for a Junebug or PICkit2 is well worth the money go get it.

BoostC is a good compiler choice.
The difference between boostC and C18 are small from the syntax level. Given the basic layout of a simple bootC program it is easy to see how C18 programs can be modified to run with bootC.

This is a file I wrote that allows me to compile the same code using BoostC or C18. If you know C it should make the differences clear. Mostly it is setting up the chip, register and register bit field names. In this file the bootC #pragma DATA and C18 #prarma config settings are for a 18F1320 the junebutg target chip. They should be modified as needed.

Code:
/* 
 * Junebug Demo 
 * Purpose: Demonstrate cooporative multitasking 
 * File: multiCompiler.h
 * Software: BoostC or Microchip C18 compilers
 * Hardware: Junebug (or other debugger + breadboarded circuit)
 * These defiles allow the use of more then one compiler.