Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Chistmas 2009 Project Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

zsh8me2

I am starting early on Christmas projects because I am still learning. I would like to build a circuit with LED's, that light individually (to simulate someone writing) and stay lit until all are lit for a certain amount of time (10 to 30 seconds) and maybe flash at the end. I'm not asking for a built circuit, just some direction, I don't mind doing research to figure stuff out, I just need general direction (although I may need some help at some point during the project). This project may include 100 to as many LED's as needed. I would like to use components to build this, but if a micro controller would be more economically feasible I am open to doing (and learning) that option. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

C:)

Last edited:
You up for a microcontroller? Trying to wrangle a hundred or more led's into doing what you want is tough any other way. With a micro, you can matrix them. Led's will matrix beautifully - they work as their own matrix diodes. With a matrix, you only need 20 wires instead of a hundred and one, and 10 current limiting resistors instead of a hundred.