Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Coil Field Examiner

Status
Not open for further replies.

codan

Hi everybody,

I am new to electronics & am in need of some help, i want to test the magnetic field strength of some coils--metal detector coils in particular.

I have a PC based oscilliscope, voltmeter, function generator that i can use to gather some data.

My first question is:
Is there any difference between AC & DC magnetic field detection apparatus or is it basically all the same?

I need an easy to make electronic circuit that i can connect to my PC to collect some data.

I have found a Circuit that i have attached & was wondering if instead of using the needle type gauge if i can connect onto this to read from my PC based voltmeter. Or if in fact this circuit will do the job.
Or is there a simpler more effective way to do this.
Someone told me to use just a large coil of wire with a capacitor across the two wires but i am unsure what there talking about or how to set it up.

I don't know all the electronics talk so please take it easy with the replies

Thanks

Attachments

• emmeter.JPG
    emmeter.JPG
    22.4 KB · Views: 109
codan said:
Is there any difference between AC & DC magnetic field detection apparatus or is it basically all the same?
Depending on what you are trying to do, the techniques will be different.

codan said: