computer hater seeks assistance...

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueboytaz

Hello, am seeking any ideas, as am a complete beginner, on how to make a device that will show me the cost and time of a meeting.....twelve guys billing by the hour...no outcome at end of meeting, just a large bill, then i can press a button on an old clock display type thing and theres the cost of the meeting along with the time....sounds so good,sounds so simple.....except i dont know much about this type of thing....any ideas gratefully accepted.... :idea:

From the subject line, I'm assuming a spreadsheet in a PC is out of the question (why!?).. anyways, next best thing, cheap programmable calcluator that allows you to write simple script. PDA out of question as well?
If you really want to build something like this, use micro controller and 7 seg displays (one for time, one for cost)

thanks for the idea of the micro controller etc....pda and spreadsheet not out of the question, just would like to get to build this ......I work in an office environment ...satisfaction of building ...you know ..paperclip free...LOL

Maybe I'm missing the point of your question. I mean the problem can be solved for under $10 without requiring a computer sitting on your desk, or requiring you to build anything. Go to Wal-Mart and get a $5 wristwatch, and a $5 calculator with a chain and keyring to slip in your pocket with your keys. If the meeting lasts two hours, and there's 12 guys, and they charge $50 per hour, punch in 12*50*2 and hit = and you get $1200. It's all self contained, in premade durable "boxes", easily transportable with minimum worry about breakage. Someone else mentioned just typing the numbers into Excel. If it's in an office environment, you've probably already got a PC with Excel or an equivalent spreadsheet. No need to buy anything else, nor carry anything around.