Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Consider the Monostable.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

UTMonkey

Hi All,

I am studying the humble transistor monostable.

According to my trusty(?) electronics book, transistor Q1 that has its base fed by the 50k x 10uF cap (see attached) is switched on bringing Q1 collector voltage low.

Putting these bits into my simulator it does what the book says (which is a first).

I get everything about what this circuit is doing EXCEPT why is it that Q1 powers on first? Surely the base voltage is reached at a slower rate because of the RxC, compared to the base of Q2 which is fed just from the 50k resistor?

Thanks in advance

p.s. yes I know a 555 monostable is easier. :)

Attachments

• monostable.jpg
    monostable.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 190
UTMonkey said:
Thank you, but why not the 50K resistor to the base of Q2?

Because while the cap is charging, the transistor Q1's collector is low, so there is no voltage to drive any base current into Q2 via the 50K.[R3]

Thanks Eric. But surely at some point the cap starts at 0 and takes "some" time to get to 0.6.

And whilst it tries to do that Q2 is getting its full base voltage?

Am I missing something?

UTMonkey said:
Thanks Eric. But surely at some point the cap starts at 0 and takes "some" time to get to 0.6.

And whilst it tries to do that Q2 is getting its full base voltage?

Am I missing something?

hi,