Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

controller for Power Compact Lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

timtalk

Hi all,
I'm new to this board and I'm a novice when it comes to electronics. I know enough to know when I'm in over my head and it's time to ask. I've been working on this project for a few months on and off and I'm interested in finally getting it finished. Hopefully someone here can help me out and i'll be able to complete this. What i'm trying to build is a controller for a set of lights that I use in my Saltwater tank. I've used the basic controller shown at **broken link removed** to get me started. I've then added to it OZ-SH-105LM1 relays (as shown in my photo below). The lights i'm trying to control are shown at **broken link removed** The problem that i'm running into is that when I try to turn off a relay that has a light on it, it somehow resets my controller chip. I.e. the chip no longer knows what time it is and I have to press the momentary switch again to get it to start working. I was pretty sure the problem was just the inductive load and it feeding back when the relay opened up, so i tried an MOC3041 optical relay inbetween the L74S07 and the relay that controlled the lights and found that the optical relay got very hot and stopped working. So I'm sort of at a loss now as to what to do. I'm looking for an easy way to control 4 of these lights without having 4 large mechanical timers that do not stay in sync with each other, and without spending $150