Converting an AT&T Belkin UPS to a UPS for small Dell PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

hcstealth

I have an extra Belkin UPS left over from AT&T that powered the gateway. I would like to modify the Belkin UPS to power my small Dell PC instead. Hopefully, in the event of a temporary power outage, the Dell would stay on.

Currently the Belkin UPS has a hard wired small round power jack out, which is regulated to 12v, 2.2 A max.

My Dell PC consumes 115/230 V 1.5/0.75 Amps, and takes a standard AC plug.

Does anyone know if this UPS sounds like it has enough power to keep the Dell running, and about for how long?

I understand that a standard AC cable would have to be wired into the UPS that would plug into the Dell PC.

What other parts would I have to replace inside the UPS...transformer, resistors?

I've never modified a circuit board before, so I'm new to this, and not sure how hard it would be to remove old parts.

Does this sound like something that could be accomplished or not?

Thanks!

You would need an inverter, 12 volt DC to 115 volt AC. These are used for automotive stuff. How long it would last depends on the the battery size in the UPS, how much power the Lap top uses, and the efficacy of the inverter. Is it worth it probley not, The battery is probably to small. The gate way used vary little power and the inverter and laptop will need much more. Andy

Well I do have several "auto" power inverters laying around, and also this UPS. So if I can use these parts and not have to worry about my Dell PC shutting down every time the power cuts out for a minute or two (which is pretty often with construction going on around here) then it would be worth it.