Custom RC-car circuitry

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrmagoo

Just to get this out here now, im not a pro at electronics. Ive taken 2 high school classes... and thats about it.
First my RC car runs on 49mhz frequency, and the only two ive been able to find are that and 29mhz (I think thats it). Problem being, when we try to race it end s up being only certain cars can race and only 2 at a time. To chance the frequency, would it be as simple as replacing a few resistors in the right area or is something totally different required?

Second, to get more speed out of my car I want to run the motor at a higher voltage. But as I found out with a previous car simply pluging in a bigger battery will fry the circuit (I figured as much, but it was cool for about 40 seconds ). If I hooked up a transistor to the wires coming from the chip to the motor running at normal voltage, could I use that to tell a seperate bigger battery when to turn off and on? am I heading in the right direction of thought proccess?

And just a question, if I were to increase the Mah of the battery (new battery pack) but leave the voltage the same, would the circuit still fry?

Last edited:
No increasing the MAH's of the battery won't hurt anything, but all it will do is make the car heavier and run longer. It may give it a slight increase in performance because larger capacity packs tend to have lower impedance which means they waste less power as heat, but it will be heavier which will reduce performance more.

What country are you in? Modificaton of RC car circuitry is not legal in any that I know of, but if you could tell us where you're from it'd be easier to make suggestions.

Sceadwian said:
What country are you in? Modificaton of RC car circuitry is not legal in any that I know of, but if you could tell us where you're from it'd be easier to make suggestions.

??? Sure it is. As long as you stay away from the radio part.