Custom Resistance Calculator

Status
Not open for further replies.

transistance

When creating filters, i come up with weird resistor values - i guess that's pretty common. Is there an online website or a program that shows you the combination of commercially available resistors u can use in parallel or series to achieve the resistance u need?

thanks in advance

It's easy to write yourself a little computer program that does this for you, I did one years ago under DOS - don't know where it's gone now?.

Store the preferred values in an array, then use a simple loop to parallel all the different values and check the percentage of error for each combination against your required target value, then display the best result.

...a simple loop to parallel all the different values...

can u expand on this part? btw i have no experience programming or compiling code under dos.. oh well, i got ubuntu to solve that problem now...

what would be the logic behind creating a combination of series and parallel connections to achieve perfect results though? create connection in series, get result very close (but less) to the value you are trying to achieve, then connect a parallel connection to achieve the smaller value to get close to the perfect total?

btw where can i obtain a list of commonly commercially available resistor values?

can u expand on this part? btw i have no experience programming or compiling code under dos.. oh well, i got ubuntu to solve that problem now...

I used Turbo Pascal, but any language would be fine.

I just wrote a program to work out the best parallel connection using just two standard resistors, it gave the closest match, and the percentage of error. It could easily be applied to three or more in parallel.

btw where can i obtain a list of commonly commercially available resistor values?

Look at what values are available, the E12 series has 12 per decade, and the E24 has 24 per decade.

E12 is