DC Air Ioniser Help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Micky

Hi all, I don't use forums much so excuse me if I'm clumsy. I'm fairly new to electronics, and it seems I get the theory and physics much better then the practical application. I have an approximate 15KV flyback based power supply that is extremely low current that I wanted to use as an negative ion generator for air. I don't think it's the ideal set up, but I like experimenting to teach myself.

Anyway I used four 20kv diodes for full wave rectification, mainly because it was easier to find four 20kv diodes than one single diode with a much higher PIV, but now I'm kind of stuck. The rectifier works well, and the needles connected to the anode give off quite a palpable 'chill', but I really feel like I've missed something important and glaringly obvious, any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Please excuse my stodgy diagram. Many thanks.

Attachments

• acdc.JPG
    31 KB · Views: 268
Last edited:
Heh heh, yeah that's the glaringly obvious bit I got stuck on. I just didn't know where to put it, or what to do with it. The anode puts out a nice breeze with the cathode ignored, but it seems inefficient to leave it like that. I'm looking for a 'what' to do with it and a 'why' if possible so I can fill in my patchy understanding. Thanks!

We recently started a discussion around this subject that can be found here. If you follow the link posted in that thread you may find some useful information. I don't think you want a full wave bridge on your HV out but a single diode and a few HV caps. Generally for a circuit like this the transformer configuration is different. Anyway, maybe the link will help.

Ron

Depends on the app. Normaly you would ground it, sometimes back to the input. Andy