dc current transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

franticET

Hi to all and happy new year!!!

I'm studying the circuit in figure below

and i don't understand how it's work, from a theoretical point of view, when the uC pin is 1 or 0.

I've made some simulations and i've noticed that the square wave on the output is amplified when the pin is at high logic level, so +15V on R1. That's true?

Could you give me some help in understanding? Thanks

first of all, what is a dc current transformer? Transformers are purely AC only.
Where does that circuit come from? It seems rather weird to me, i´d expect to see a diode here and there if it is supposed to be a dc supply.

What is the triangle at the top with +15V but no ground?
Are the two outputs from the uC in-phase? If they are in-phase then they are the same and only one is needed.

first of all, what is a dc current transformer? Transformers are purely AC only.
There are DC current transformers.

A DC current will produce a magnetic field that doesn't change. Voltage will not be induced in a winding by a magnetic field that doesn't change, but if another method of measuring the field is used, then the transformer can measure the input current.

The field is often measured with a Hall sensor or a fluxgate sensor. For better accuracies, the magnetic field is controlled to zero by a sense winding with lots of turns.

https://www.lem.com/ offer loads of current transformers, and most if not all will work at DC.

But that's not a transformer? - it's a hall effect device (or something else) measuring the magnetic field of a coil or conductor.

The website you linked to mentioned 'transducers', I couldn't see any mention of DC transformers.

But that's not a transformer? - it's a hall effect device (or something else) measuring the magnetic field of a coil or conductor.

The website you linked to mentioned 'transducers', I couldn't see any mention of DC transformers.

You are right, they are transducers.