Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC-DC assistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nun

Hello all,

I have some electrical background (Navy) but am definitely rusty. I could use some assistance in trying to figure out what I thought would be a simple one. Is there a way to have a DC-DC Bridge? Bi directional? I know with AC a transformer can go both directions. But with DC, I am finding products where I am stuck going one direction (Step up or Step down).

My issue: I have a 12v Battery bank (2 6v) and I want to use a Solar panel and charge controller designed for 24v. I would like to make this as simple as possible with the fewest items/devices or points of failure. On the 12v side is the standard load of an average RV. On the 24v side I would have a few POE powered devices. (Cameras, Wifi Access Point)

I would like to use this unifi device as the charge controller as I like the built in interface: https://store.ui.com/collections/operator-sunmax/products/sunmax-solarpoint

I have been kicking around a couple of ideas that if what I'm after does not exist I can work my way around the limitations.

1. Add in both a step up and step down DC converter: using items like the two links below.
Step Down: https://www.amazon.com/Nextrox-Conv...4vdc+to+12vdc+converter&qid=1599668321&sr=8-4
Step up: https://www.amazon.com/Daygreen-Mod...672519&sprefix=12vdc+to+24vdc+,aps,168&sr=8-8