Dettol no touch soap dispenser

Status
Not open for further replies.

herzeleid008

hi all,

im new in circuit - trying to understand how does the circuit in this dettol no touch soap dispenser works.

i've currently dismantled the parts looking at the circuit but still new

anyone can help to explain how does the circuit works

from what i see there are:-

1) 1 yellow + 1 green wires connecting to the sensor
2) 1 brown + 1 white wire connecting to left side of the pump
3) 2 yellow to the top side of the pump
4) 2 green to the right side of the pump
5) 1 red + 1 black to the battery

All this wires are soldered on a circuit block

Would greatly appreciate if someone can help me out in the basic understanding how this pump works in terms of electronics

Thanks all !

Last edited:
many dispensors works with IR diodes and detectors. if the IR radiation is reflected back, the motor can work and then pump the liquid. its very simple indeed.

To save on battery life, there maybe some basic form of intelligenc ein there, such as a microcontroller. They can't leave the IR LED permenantly on, as this would drain the battery, but at the same time, it needs to be turned on regularly so it doesn't 'miss' someone placing their hand there. I suspect it turns on the IR LED for a very short period, every half a second or so, and once detected with a photodiode, double checks, then starts the pump.

There could also be a timer, so the pump doesn't constantly 'pump out' soap if someone leaves their hand there (waste of soap, and battery power).

I have noticed that these don't trigger in high ambient lighting conditions, so perhaps the IR LED is 'modulated' with a high frequency - the photodiode circuit only triggers when it detects this frequency (and so, ignoring 'DC' such as permenant light, and tv remote control signals).