Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Digital Instrument panel project

Status
Not open for further replies.

mishu

Hello everyone,

this is my first post here, so I'll tell a little about myself (jump to the next paragraph if you're in a hurry). I'm a CS student in my 3rd year, and, after working this summer on my car (a 1990 Peugeot 205), I was thinking of giving it a cool dashboard to finish up the other changes. So I was very excited when I heard that we were going to study Systems using microprocessors/controllers. Unfortunately, the professor teaching the course doesn't share my enthusiasm, so I've decided to do it alone.

Here goes: I'd like to replace the current analog dash with an 8" widescreen LCD. While the outside look is pretty much decided, I still have no idea what to use to actually make the LCD display what I need.

I'm thinking of using a microcontroller/processor with some A/D converters, which will provide me with all the input I need (water temperature, fuel gauge, etc.) and a video controller to display the entire thing. I'm thinking of a refresh rate of about 10 samples/second to get a smooth reading, a graphics processor to support some rotations, transparency, etc... but I have no idea what chips to use.

Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks for getting this far! :)

Hmm, it seems that topic didn't get very far indeed.