Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DiodeDude is a Newfie & says Hello all!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DiodeDude

Hey folks!

I'm new to the forum.... 2nd Post! Just wanted to say hello & tell a bit about myself.

I am a Newfoundlander living in northern Ontario, Canada. Moved here 12 yrs ago to take job as Instrument Tech in paper mill. Well the paper mill is now closed & I am looking for work once again. I am 50 yrs old so what are the odds?

I studied electronics in college for a few yrs @ St. John's, Newfoundland... before entering the work force. I have had a number of positions over the past 30 yrs........ Electronics has been a component of all of them but the loin's share of the work is usually mechanical. (Speaks well for the longevity of electronics I suppose!)

I have a few tools & a decent Fluke meter but do not have a shop per-ce @ home. Unless you wanna count my shed in the back yard! I do like to dabble & try & fix the scattered broken-down item (eg. VCR or battery charger etc.)

I haven't made something from scratch for a long time. I was looking for schematic for home security alarm when I came across this site. I have found lots of interesting info & links since I started snooping around here so I expect I will be lurking about for some time.... at least till I get back to work or get pre-occupied with something else.