Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Disable DRL's

Status
Not open for further replies.

team dougherty

Hello, I have looked all over the internet for a way to disable the DRLs, Daytime Running Lights, on my car. There are solutions out there but they also disable another feature that I like. The car does have a way to disable them but it must be done every time the car is started. a real pain. I know what I would like to do to disable them automatically but I am not an electronics expert by any degree.

In my search for a solution, I was looking how to use a 555 timer, way over my head, I found this site. I looked around and found some great posts and a lot of smart people. Hopefully someone here can design and build the circuit for me.

Here is what I would like.

The DRLs can be disabled by pushing the dome over ride button four times within 6 seconds after the car is started. This has to be done every time the car is started.

After some investigation I found out the the dome over ride switch is a double action switch. Push for on and push for off. all the switch does in take an output from the BCM, Body Control Module, and sends it to ground.

The output from the BCM is 12 volts and when grounded 12.25 ma of current flows. The picture below shows two needles in the plug. one is the wire that goes to ground the other from the BCM. they both go to the dome over ride switch when plugged back into the switch housing.
**broken link removed**