Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Doubt regarding working of 4046 as a VCO...

Status
Not open for further replies.

aeroboy049

Respected all,
I am still new to electronics and am currently refering the book "Electronic circuits for Evil Genius" by Dave Cutcher.In lesson 34 he introduced the concept of clock signals and generating them by using 4046 IC by using only the VCO part of it.When I tried out the schematic given in the book(which I have attached alongwith) on the breadboard ,it didn't work.Then I tried to simulate the same in Proteus.
There too,it wasn't working the way it way given in the book.As per the book:

1)As soon as the push button is pressed, the LED should be flashing so fast so that you are unable to tell whether the LED is on/off.
2)Gradually the rate of flashing should slow down.
3)And finally it slows down to snails pace to a final halt.
When I assembled the circuit on the breadboard,and pressed the push button;the LED didn't lit up at all.
As far as simulating in Proteus is concerned,it shows LED flashing even before the switch is pressed.