Driving a 4026

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wokyerdog

Hey guys,

New to the forum here but i like what i see so far!

I'm somewhat new to chips n stuff but im pretty solid with basic electronics.

Anyway, I'm trying to figure out how to drive a 4026 (which in turn drives a 7 seg LED) with a rotory knob (continuous potentiometer?). I need a knob that turns infinitely in both directions to increase and decrease the numbers.

Thanks in advance

Wok

So you want the displayed numbers to increase and decrease as you turn the pot left and right? From what number to what number?

You're going to need some kind of A-to-D interface in front of the counter chip, like a comparator with a ladder resistor network or something. Keep in mind that the 4026 only accepts digital (logic-level) inputs, nothing really "analog".

You need a knob that turns infinitely? With some trim pots, once you get the the end they will keep turning but the resistance value won't change any further. I'm not aware of any pot that you can turn infinitely and change its resistance. What range of values do you want to show on the 7 segment display or displays? What is the range of input voltages? What resolution are you looking for?

As for the rest, this would be easiest to do with a microcontroller but if you want to go the logic IC route than you would need to connect the wiper of your pot to an ADC (analog-to-digital converter) IC. If you could find one that has a serial output compatible with the 4026 then great. Someone might know right away which one to use. If the ADC has a parallel output, you'll need a parallel to serial converter in between the ADC and 4026.

I think (but of course I could be wrong) that by "infinitely" what they mean is without discrete steps, like a switch. Don't think they necessarily want a pot that turns 360° continuously.

You cound use a rotary encoder. They have continous rotation and a digital output that would be easy to connect to a digital circuit.