Dsb

Status
Not open for further replies.

dr.power

Hello guys,

I am newbie here.

Sorry I got a question regarding to modulation.
Please take a look at the below PDF which is an AM DSB modulator out of 4066!
The Two questions which arrive to me are:
1. Is this circuit actually reliable as a DSB modulator?? For instance, is it able to honestly work instead of an MC1495 AM modulator?

2. It uses a band pass filter (I am not sure why we need it to remove unwanted upper and lower frequencies?), How to calculate the bandwidth for it? Say I have a modulating signal of 4kHz and a carrier signal of say 400kHz, How do I calculate the best order filter for the said modulator?

Thanks a bunch.

Attachments

• Mod.pdf
    17.8 KB · Views: 268
  • un.PNG
    11.7 KB · Views: 251
Last edited:
Yes, it is a reliable DSB modulator. They're often used by hobbiests to demodulate FM stereo signals.
Sorry, I'm not much help with audio filters, but if you're trying to filter out one of the sidebands, obviously a high Q filter is required.
At RF this task is usually done with crystal filters. But at 400KHz, it could easily be done with a good DSP filter.

If the purpose of the task is use some sort of LCR filter combination, then something with five stages should be more than enough to filter out the unwanted sideband. Parallel and series frequency response formulas is where I'd start.

Thanks sir,

Did you ever have used a modulator out of 4066 or have seen any AM circuit out of it somewhere? I would like to know the other AM structures by 4066.

Are you sure about using it to "demodulate FM stereo signals"?!

I do not know what is the usage of the bandpass filter in the above modulator but I am almost sure that it is not there to remove one of sidebands. Is there anybody to says us the main reason of using that bandpass filter?