dual lm317 battery charger

Status
Not open for further replies.

ed1380

I'm a beginner in electronics but I want a better nimh charger without having to spend alot of money. I came up with a simple cirtuit using 2 lm317.
supply voltage goes into input. battery plugs into output. I would manually time it based upon mah.
I could also plug the battery into aux and use the second half to drain battery and measure mah.
Is there anything I'm missing? I'm mainly going to be using it for 6v battery packs, but occasionally higher. I'm not planning on charging over 500ma. I am curious on how could I know if it's charged not based upon time.
picture showing example. the little boxes are circuits

Attachments

• circuit.JPG
    12.6 KB · Views: 664
Last edited:
The best method I know of for detecting a fully charged NiMH cell is Delta V. The pack needs to be discharged bellow 80% or so or this method won't work. Basically you apply a constant charge current and simply monitor the voltage until the voltage goes down. As a NiMH charge the cell voltage rises steadily to it's peak charge point and then drops just slightly, detecting this drop in voltage can be a little tricky, because it's not much of a drop. The higher the charge current the more pronounced this dip is. Typically after this chargers go into a trickle charge of 1/10th to 1/20th C

By the way, give some thought to using Lithium batteries. They're even easier to charge than NiMHs, you just apply constant current till the cells reach 4.2volts and then they can be used right away, they considered 80% charged when charged that way, if you want a 100% fully charged pack once the pack reaches 4.2V per cell you constant voltage and monitor the current till it's 1/10th of the intial charging current. However if Lithium packs are only ever charged to 80% and discharged to only about 3.2 volts they will last a LONG time.