Endless Startup Cycle.

NaxMan

Hi, im a noob

Trying to build a gps ear tag for my cattle.
The problem is: Load starts up when battery is 3V. Battery drains to 2.9V due to startup of load. Load turns off. Solar panel charges battery to 3V. Load starts up. Battery drains to 2.9V again due to startup of load. Load turns off. This cycle repeats for days on end. What to do?

Ive tried different types of capacitors. Have tried to incorporate a N Channel Mosfet, but i failed. Can anyone please guide me in the right direction.
94mAh 4.5V solar panel(I cannot go bigger because of weight and size.
Solar charger present.
500mAh lithium battery.
Diode on solar panel + to prevent backfeed.

Attachments

• WhatsApp Image 2024-06-02 at 14.20.15_c89519b4.jpg
    202.2 KB · Views: 48
Solution
You need a low-power circuit with voltage sensor and hysteresis to make that work. I had assumed that you would have a microcontroller running everything.

Can you share your circuit diagram?
What different capacitors? You show a 0.33uf, which is very small capacitance, that would not help any surge…Try something like 100uf. However, I think the starting voltage is a bit low to start with and a start load will always drop the battery voltage a little due to wiring and battery resistances.
Can you increase the battery voltage a bit?

I'm puzzled by your 3V battery?, Li-Ion are 4.2V, and fully capable of powering a GPRS modem board.

One of my products at work is a long battery life (5 years plus) logger and uses an Inorganic Lithium battery (standard in loggers), these are long shelf life, high capacity, but only able to supply low currents. In order to power a GPRS modem I add a 1F super capacitor in order to provide the high current pulses.

Check your glasses

It's 0.33 FARADS