Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ensuring 5v out for USB charging project

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericspittle

Okay, I'm a complete noob, so if this is a dumb question I apologize in advance for wasting your time. I spent all day lost yesterday because my cell phone (which also happens to be my GPS) died, and the lighter socket in my car is broke so I couldn't use a car charger (simple solution: fix the lighter socket, my solution: build a AA powered USB charger). Now I've looked over the instructions for the MintyBoost and decided it would be way too complicated for me, it seems much easier to have 4 AA batteries supplying 6v rather than having to use a boost converter to get the 3v from two AAs to the 5v needed for USB.